IMG_4540 Sunday, May 6, 2018 | lismorespeedway

BUTCHER WINS AMERICAN TRIP AND EGGINS CLAIMS AGP BY DENNIS NEWLYN BY DENNIS NEWLYN MICHAEL Butcher and David Eggins were the big winners of the major events for the Wingless Sprintcar division at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway Saturday night, May 5. Butcher drove off the front row and was never headed as he won the Lismore Workers Club/Queensland Speedway Spares Driver to America series. Butcher was the deserving winner of the season long tournament as he was top points man from the premiership rounds heading into the 25-lap main event which decided the air ticket award. It was appropriate the top three men in qualifying premiership round points for the final finished the deciding race in that order as Butcher was followed to the chequered flag by Eggins and Mason Cattell. Eggins chased Butcher relentlessly throughout the event but admitted he had incorrectly read the track and the surface had not “gone away enough” as he thought it would, which meant he did not have enough air pressure in his right rear tyre. But he made no excuses in his acceptance of the runner-up award at the trophy presentations and congratulated Butcher on the air ticket win. Meanwhile, Eggins made amends with his win in the 100-lap Australian Wingless Sprintcar Grand Prix. Kevin Willis filled the runner-up position in the ton of laps, while Butcher was third. Willis, who was highest point scorer from the heat events which determined the field for the 100 lap feature race, was offered a $500 bonus to forfeit his front row starting position and commence the race from the back of the field. At first he rejected the offer by the track promotion who then added another $200 to the purse and he then accepted the $700 bonus to invert the whole field. It was a decision that almost paid even further financial gains after Willis drove a great race and charged through the field to ultimately snare the runner-up finishing position at the end of the 100 lapper. After Willis decided to move to the back of the field it was Natasha Herne who started from pole. She charged into the lead at the outset and set the early pace. Willis had already moved into second position after just 20 laps in a big drive from the back mark. The first part of the race was hectic with Eggins, Mick Reid, Butcher, Matt Wright and Jacob Jolley also battling for positions in the front half of the field. Cattell and Warren King were also running strongly in the pack. Eggins had commanded the lead and was followed by a hot band of pursuers. Despite a few yellow light cautions for various incidents, as the event unfolded Eggins, Willis and Jolley broke away from the charging pack. Jolley ended his race in the latter part of the marathon after he damaged an engine, while Cattell was another withdrawal after an encounter with the concrete safety fence. As the laps wound down, there was still a battle for the top three as Butcher ran in second before Willis later made a pass and secured the runner-up spot in the latter stages and the top three crossed the finish line, Eggins, Willis, Butcher. The top ten finishers were rounded out by: King, Bestmann, Wright, Jason Conti, Hull, Reid and Steve Mcinnes. Wingless Sprint heat wins went to Willis, Ben Hull, Simon Bestmann and Butcher. Other main event winners were: Chris Besseling (Production Sedans), Luke Gray (Street Stocks), Matt Leyton (Four Cylinder Sedans) and Josh Boyd (Junior Sedans). The caravan demolition derby was won by Ray Whitton.

Grandstand Booking Kids under 12 Free Program Prize Each Meeting Racing From 5.30pm Season Calendar
  • Ben Hull
  • Connolly Key Joint
  • Gibbos
  • Hernes Freight Service
  • Lakeside Motel
  • Lismore Nissan & Kia
  • Lismore Workers Club
  • NBN Television
  • North Coast Bearing Supplies
  • Performance Wholesale
  • Rock Auto
  • Southside Agencies
  • Trevan Ford