IMG_8595 Sunday, January 28, 2018 | lismorespeedway



JAI Stephenson and Andrew Pezzutti were the major winners of V8 Dirt Modified title events at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway over the weekend.

Stephenson raced to an impressive victory in the time honoured New South Wales Championship as part of the Friday night (January 26) Australia day fixture, while the Mr Modified series, held over two rounds in January, was decided on Saturday night (January 27).

Pezzutti topped the points and was crowned overall series winner for 2018. Pezzutti set up the Mr Modified series victory right from the outset earlier in the month after he scored a photo-finish main event opening round victory at the Lismore venue on January 6.

Pezzutti consolidated his win in the series when he was placed second to round two main event winner Anthony Ashen this weekend. For the record, the top three placegetters in Saturday night’s Mr Modified series round two feature race were: Anthony Ashen, Andrew Pezzutti and Steve Milthorpe.

Pezzutti, who scored 329 points overall, enjoyed a 25-point advantage at the completion of the tournament over series runner-up Tony Dunn (304 points), while the consistent Trent Scofield (283 points) was third.

With a congested leader board going into the final and deciding round, the outcome of the Mr Modified series title standings was always going to be keenly contested. At the end of the tournament, the top three were only marginally ahead of series fourth-placed Ashen (270 points), Geoff Rose (268) and Stephenson (267) – the latter three always well in contention for a major placing entering the deciding main event. Meanwhile, Phillips (261), Zac MacDonald (222), Sam Bruggy ((219) and Scott Cannon (205) rounded out the final top ten standings in the 2018 Mr Modified series.

It was just as competitive in the previous night’s NSW V8 Dirt Modified Championship as Jai Stephenson took a well earned victory over defending state titleholder Pezzutti and Geoff Phillips.

Stephenson overcame some carnage involving other cars and drivers in the outset of the race before he charged into contention and ran down early race leader Mitchell Randall.

Other main event winners over the weekend were:

FRIDAY – Luke Watt (Four Cylinder Sedans), Madison Harkin (Production Sedans), Josh Boyd (Junior Sedans) and Jacob Jolley (Wingless Sprintcars).

SATURDAY – Max Marsden (Four Cylinder Sedans), Mark Quirk (Production Sedans), Jamie Smith (Street Stocks), Brock Youngberry (Junior Sedans) and Michael Butcher (Wingless Sprintcars).


Grandstand Booking Kids under 12 Free Program Prize Each Meeting Racing From 5.30pm Season Calendar
  • Connolly Key Joint
  • Gibbos
  • Hernes Freight Service
  • Lakeside Motel
  • Lismore Nissan & Kia
  • Lismore Workers Club
  • NBN Television
  • North Coast Bearing Supplies
  • Performance Wholesale
  • Rock Auto
  • Southside Agencies
  • Trevan Ford