ANDREW PEZZUTTI_J__9838 - Copy (640x394) Monday, November 6, 2017 | lismorespeedway



ANDREW Pezzutti took out the V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor’s Cup in the opening meeting of the 2017-18 season at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway Saturday night, November 4.

Pezzutti was the class act of the field as he raced to the chequered flag ahead of Ray Eggins and third-placed Anthony Ashen.

After Paul Booker started from pole it did not take long for Pezzutti to utilise to his advantage a handy up front starting position in the 30-lap final.

While Booker and Tony Dunn held command at the head of the field, further back other fast runners already had started to make their presence felt. Eggins chose the high line as his quickest way around the Lismore Showground bull ring and after he went around the outside of prominent runner Trevor Willey, he was on the charge.

Meanwhile, Pezzutti was a man on a mission and reached the lead just prior to a caution, slow down period after a track edge witch’s hat was knock onto the circuit.

At the green, Pezzutti held the role of pacemaker and started to put some distance between himself and the rest of the field. Ashen, Booker and Andrew Firth also engaged in an exciting dice in the battle for the minor placings.

Ray Clarich also loomed up on the trio as the field set a cracking pace on the superb new racing surface put down during the winter months.

Lapped traffic came into play soon after half distance, but Pezzutti never put a wheel out of place in what was a brilliant drive.

Mitchell Randall also impressed driving a car formerly owned by Mark Robinson.

Pezzutti raced out the remaining laps without any problems and crossed the line a very convincing winner over Eggins and Ashen. Pezzutti repeated the success he enjoyed in 2014 when he turned in an equally significant victory in the V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor’s Cup.

This was one of the best Lord Mayor’s Cup races ever held as it provided plenty of fast-paced entertainment for the big crowd on hand.

The heat races also produced close racing and the wins, in particular, by Booker, Randall, Terry Leerenveldt and Eggins were impressive.

Brent Hall finished the night on a better note than he started the meeting after he won the B-Main. Hall’s car struck a problem even before turning a wheel in competition when the engine stripped a harmonic balancer earlier in the day.

Matthew Wright had a rough and tumble Wingless Sprintcar main event after he rolled his car.

He escaped unscathed as the main event was taken out by Trent Martin over David Eggins and Mick Santin.

It was a big drive by Santin who came through from toward the rear of the field to finish on the podium.

Robert Mazzer ran strongly in the main event and was up to third when the race stoppage occurred after the crash involving Wright. At the restart a failing battery prevented Mazzer from continuing his charge in the top three.

Other feature race winners were: Kenny Deuchar (Four Cylinder Sedans), Matthew Weir (Junior Sedans), Luke Gray (Street Stocks), Chris Besseling (Production Sedans) and Shane Newstead (AMCAs.)

The opening meeting of the Lismore season was attended by Lismore City Mayor Isaac Smith.


Grandstand Booking Kids under 12 Free Program Prize Each Meeting Racing From 5.30pm Season Calendar
  • Ben Hull
  • Connolly Key Joint
  • Gibbos
  • Hernes Freight Service
  • Lakeside Motel
  • Lismore Nissan & Kia
  • Lismore Workers Club
  • NBN Television
  • North Coast Bearing Supplies
  • Performance Wholesale
  • Rock Auto
  • Southside Agencies
  • Trevan Ford